Optimism


sound wavesI’m going to be deaf before I turn forty.

Samantha:  “Mom!  Where are we going?!”

Me:  “We’re going to the store.  First the store, then the playground.  Number 1, the store.  Number 2, the playground.”  Now, both Samantha and Simon should understand.  It’s only the fifth time I’ve said since helping them with their clothes, but the first time since getting everyone strapped into their seats.

Samantha:  “MOM!  I want to go to a place with unicorns and a ferris wheel!”

Me:  “We can’t.  There isn’t any such place anywhere near here [or on this planet, but I don’t say that], and we have to go the store.  First the store, then the playground.  Number 1, the store.  Number 2, the playground.”  Simon really likes to tick things off on his fingers, and is happily repeating my order of affairs on his fingers now.

Samantha:  “MOM! We can drive to a place far away with unicorns and a ferris wheel.”

Me:  “We’re going to the store.”

Samantha:  “BUT MOM!  I REALLY want to go there!”

Me:  “We’re going to the store.”

Simon pipes up:  “WAIT!  TURN AROUND!  GO BACK!  I SAW A PLAYGROUND!

Me:  “We’re going to the store!”

Simon:  “I don’t WANT TO GO to the store!

Me:  “Simon, we are going to the playground, after the store.  Number 1 the store, number 2 the playground.”

Simon:  “Oh, okay.”

Samantha:  “Mom, can we go to TWO stores?”

Me:  “No, we’re going to one store.”

Samantha:  “But mom, I want to go to TWO stores!”

Simon:  “I want to go to the PLAYGROUND!”

Me:  “If you keep this up, no one is going to the store.  We are ALL GOING HOME!”

Them:  “BUT MOM! I don’t want to go HOME!

So we make it to the store.  Inside, in the produce section, another mother of two littles stops me to ask, “How do you look so calm?”

I didn’t have an answer then.  Calm.  I was surprised to hear that word.  Numb.  Dazed.  Maybe those are a better fit.

3 thoughts on “Optimism

  1. Hahahahahaahaha.

    And OMGosh, AJ is relentless about knowing The Next Step. “And *then* what are we doing? Mom? Where are we going next? After the store, where are we going?”

    “To Target.”

    “And then where are we going after Target?”

    “I don’t know.”

    “But do we need to go somewhere else after that?”

    “I don’t know, I haven’t decided yet.”

    “But *where* are we gonna *go*?!?!”

Comments are closed.